Sleep It often eludes me

Sleep Disorders and Mitochondrial Disease

There are about ten accepted sleep disorders as found in the DSM 5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) which had made several significant changes in both the classification and diagnostic criteria for many of the sleep-wake disorders. . The DSM-5 sleep-wake disorders category now encompasses 10 disorders or disorder groups, including insomnia disorder, hyper-somnolence disorder, narcolepsy disorder, breathing related sleep disorders, circadian rhythm sleep-wake disorder, non-REM sleep arousal disorder, nightmare disorder, REM sleep behavior disorder, restless leg syndrome, substance/medication induced sleep disorder.

Mitochondrial disease we our mainly dealing with breathing related disorders, movement disorders such as restless leg syndrome, circadian rhythm disorder, hypersomnia excessive sleep like narcolepsy and other conditions, parasomnia which refers to abnormal sleep behaviors like night terrors or sleep walking, REM behavior disorders and seizure related disorders. This last not being on the DSM5’s list but most definitely in Mito’s list of sleep disorders. There is a page on MitoAction.org   where on March 4, 2011 Dr.Matthew Weiss spoke about sleep disorders and mitochondrial disease. I am also linking the Pod cast here as well Weiss Pod Cast for those wanting to listen in to the topic.

For me sleeping disorder comes in the form of Sleep Apnea and Insomnia. I am not going to take you through all the medical technical parts but just say those are my sleep disorder issues. I go to bed each night around ten to eleven which I admit maybe a little late compared to when I get up each day. I am always up by but mainly before six each morning. I have a lot of things I do each morning and this mean I need to be up and going each and everyday seven days a week. But with Mito and sleeping disorders I can now be up anytime. It doesn’t matter what prescriptions I try to take when I wake up that’s it I am up. I have spent to many night having just gone to bed only to wake up at one o’clock and be up there staring at the screen of my computer.

Here’s the part I know you want to come next but the truth is at the moment there is no real relief that I can find. It’s not inherit to all Mito patients just the ones who suffer from it. Though that number does seem to be a large enough statistic as to say its one of the common symptoms. The Journal of Clinic Sleep Medicine in a currant issue on Sleep Disorders Associated with Primary Mitochondrial Diseases stated their conclusion of the problem as. “Sleep pathology may be an underreported complication of primary mitochondrial diseases. The probable underlying mechanism is cellular energy failure causing both central neurological and peripheral neuromuscular degenerative changes that commonly present as central sleep apnea and poor ventilatory response to hypercapnia. Increased recognition of the genetics and clinical manifestations of mitochondrial diseases by sleep researchers and clinicians is important in the evaluation and treatment of all patients with sleep disturbances. Prospective population-based studies are required to determine the true prevalence of mitochondrial energy failure in subjects with sleep disorders, and conversely, of individuals with primary mitochondrial diseases and sleep pathology”. So we just mainly come back to the Mitochondria and ATP or our energy deficiencies.

 

Leave a Reply

